Protection One Reviews (2018)

Access Our #1 Home Security Company! Read Review & Unlock Best Deals

Protection One

Home Brands is supported by readers. Some links on Home Brands are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Home Brands may make a small amount of money. More info.

Protection 1® is a division of ADT, which specializes in full service home and commercial security implementations. They focus on having a highly valuable customer service experience, which is reflected in many of their scores online. However, what you get is a more expensive experience in terms of pricing. Additionally, there are some other customers and experts that have described issues with the equipment quality.

Home Security Scores

Overall Score: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction: 8.2/10

Features: 8.4/10

Equipment: 8.1/10

Equipment Price: $0+

Monitoring Price: $35/mo-$55/mo

Get Your Quote Now

Browse Our #1 Home Security Company

Overall Takeaways

Protection 1 tailors itself as a full-service home and commercial security company. For initial service and installation, customers feel good with Protection 1, but there are issues with some of their door to door sales tactics, reports of strict contract rules on moving, and most commonly, issues with equipment. Although installations go well, there are reports that exiting the contract is very difficult. Make sure to read the entire contract before initiating service of handing over your payment.

Here are some examples of what customers say are some of Protection 1's biggest advantages:

  • Installation Service
  • Monitoring Service
  • Scalable Systems
.

In addition to these positives, there are some complaints from customers about Protection 1's service. Here's what they mention as the biggest disadvantages:

  • Issues With Cancelling & Moving
  • Sensor Malfunctions
  • Contractual Fineprint
  • Reports of Hardline Sales

Review New 2018 Plan Options & Get The Best Rates

Get Your Quote Now

Product Details

Protection 1 has a variety of monitoring and equipment packages and offers flexibility to customize your package with equipment add-ons. That said, there are reprots from experts and customers that some of the sensors and equipment used are prone to malfunction. Additionally, there may be additional fees for equipment despite high monthly monitoring prices.

Protection 1's Equipment

Protection 1 offers control panels, motion sensors, and door / window sensors as part of their monitoring packages. Dependent on customization, there may be some prices to pay for this equipment in addition to the monthly monitoring prices.

In terms of equipment quality, some customers and experts have reported that some sensors and equipment offerings may have issues with malfunctioning. That said, Protection 1 offers some new technologies, like Alarm.com connected devices and smart home features in some of their packages.

Protection 1's Monitoring

Protection 1 offers 4 different monitoring packages with various enhancements as you go up in price. The standard contract length is 36 months and there are exit fees to cancel. Additionally, there are reports that customers that had to move had to pay the exit fees. Here are the full details:

PackageDetails
Secure Package
($35/mo)
  • Landline Connection
  • Fire & CO Monitoring
  • Instrusion Protection
  • Panic Button & Extreme Temperatures
  • 24/7 Professional Monitoring
Secure+ Package
($45/mo)
Everything in the Secure Package but instead:
  • Cellular Connection
  • 2-Way Voice Addition
Smart Control Package
($50/mo)
Everything in the Secure+ Package and:
  • Motion Sensor Integrated Camera
  • Alarm.com Mobile & Web Control
  • Smart Home Options
Video Package
($55/mo)
Everything in the Smart Control Package and:
  • Video Surveillance Add-On

Security & Monitoring Quality

One of the things that Protection 1 does right is their monitoring services. Experts and customers rarely have negative things to say about the quality of the monitoring services once implemented. The only caveat to that is when a sensor malfunctions. There were a few reports of break ins not being reported because the sensors were not operating properly during the event. However, this too was not something that was reported often.

In terms of getting good security services, Protection 1 charges high prices versus other top contenders and integrates with equipment that some experts and customers have had issues with. Our overall take on Protection 1 is that service will likely be great for the first year, but after that there may be too much risk in equipment issues for the long term. If you are heart set on Protection 1, discuss the maintenance and equipment replacement options with them and get it in writing before signing your contract.

Alternatives

Frontpoint

Frontpoint is one of the best home security companies that we've reviewed. Some of the reasons that customers appreciate their product versus Protection 1 is portability, easy DIY installation, and security quality. One of the major complaints about Protection 1 was from customers that wanted to move mid-contract. Frontpoint makes it easy to move and take your security system with you. Also, they have really great online support so that you can get things secured quickly and for the long term.

Vivint

Vivint is for those that want a smart home focused home security experience. Vivint is known for their scalable smart home systems with state-of-the-art equipment that really grows with the newest smart home trends and features. For those that are looking to control their thermostat, lighting, and home appliances remotely, while still getting top of the line home security monitoring, Vivint is a worth a look.

Sign up for your Protection One Plan Now:   Get Your Quote Now

Browse Protection One Customer Reviews

I have been with Protection 1...

I have been with Protection 1 for the past 10 years and prior to them, I was stuck with ADT. I have never had an issue with the Protection 1 service and when I called with questions or an equipment issue, I received an answer or resolution right away. I am so very sorry they have merged with ADT, who I consider lower than scum. Guess it is time for me to move on as I had nothing but issues with ADT and have no desire to ever do business with them again.

View More Reviews

Browse Reviews From These Home Security Companies

Vivint Smart Home Security
9.6/10

Vivint Smart Home Security

Frontpoint Security
9.6/10

Frontpoint Security

Link Interactive
9.5/10

Link Interactive

Alarm Grid
9.1/10

Alarm Grid

SimpliSafe
9.1/10

SimpliSafe

Armorax
8.8/10

Armorax

GuardMe Security
8.7/10

GuardMe Security

Vector Security
8.7/10

Vector Security

Protect America
8.6/10

Protect America

Scout Alarm
8.5/10

Scout Alarm

Alliance Security
8.5/10

Alliance Security

ADT
8.4/10

ADT

Moni
8.4/10

Moni

LiveWatch
8.4/10

LiveWatch

XFINITY Home Security
8.3/10

XFINITY Home Security

Guardian Protection
8.2/10

Guardian Protection

Mountain Alarm
8.1/10

Mountain Alarm

Koorsen Security
8.1/10

Koorsen Security

AT&T Digital Life
7.8/10

AT&T Digital Life

Iris Home Security
7.7/10

Iris Home Security

Cox Home Security
7.7/10

Cox Home Security

Ackerman Security
7.6/10

Ackerman Security

LifeShield
7.5/10

LifeShield

Fortress Security
7.2/10

Fortress Security

CPI Security
6.9/10

CPI Security

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security
6.6/10

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security

Disclaimer

Finding the right home service plan in an ocean of online reviews can be a tedious task. This site's purpose is to provide a detailed account of available home service plans in the US. The scores here are based on aggregated reviews from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the scores may be affected if outside sites do a poor job mitigating fake reviews.

The makers of Home Brands also make affiliate commissions from some of these home service companies to keep the site running. We do not allow that to affect our scoring. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Home Brands come out of the home service company's profit margin. See how it all works here.

Connect & Learn

Legal & Scoring Methodology

About Us

Terms & Conditions

Privacy Policy

How We Score Companies

Home Security Score: 8.3 / 10 from 62 Ratings