Moni Reviews (2018)

Access Our #1 Home Security Company! Read Review & Unlock Best Deals

Moni

Home Brands is supported by readers. Some links on Home Brands are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Home Brands may make a small amount of money. More info.

Moni (now Brinks Home Security) is a nationwide home security company that has made big moves over the years to be a competitive force in the industry. They have made a lot of changes over the recent years. They have some good quality monitoring and integrated Nest Secure equipment. There are some reports of issues with billing and contracts. Make sure to read your contract thoroughly. If a simple monitoring system with good monitoring is what you are after, Moni is a potential option.

Home Security Scores

Overall Score: 8.4/10

Customer Satisfaction: 8.1/10

Features: 8.5/10

Equipment: 8.6/10

Equipment Price: Varies

Monitoring Price: $19/mo-$29/mo

Get Your Quote Now

Browse Our #1 Home Security Company

Overall Takeaways

Moni is a home security brand that has been around since the 1990s under the name Monitronics. Over the years, they have teamed up with Nest as their equipment provider and focused on an easy to set up service. There are some limitations, though -- like customization and scalability. Nest is a well-known provider of smart thermostats and security, but doesn't allow the full level of home automation features that other companies offer.

Here are some examples of what customers say are some of Moni's biggest advantages:

  • Affordable Monitoring Entry-Price
  • Month to Month Monitoring Option
  • Nest Technology
.

In addition to these positives, there are some complaints from customers about Moni's service. Here's what they mention as the biggest disadvantages:

  • Cancellation is Difficult
  • Some Billing Issues
  • Moving & Scaling Difficult

Review New 2018 Plan Options & Get The Best Rates

Get Your Quote Now

Product Details

Moni provides Nest equipment and professional 24/7 monitoring. They make things straightfoward by offering only one tier of service (with savings with a 3 year agreement vs. month to month). We'll go through their complete offering in detail.

Moni's Equipment

As part of signing up for a new Moni plan, you'll need to integrate the Nest Secure system. This includes Nest Guard keypad and monitor, 2 Nest Tags (arm/disarm fobs), and 2 Nest Detect Sensors for doors/windows. This is the standard system that they offer and if you want any customization, you'll have to call in to go through the options with a sales person. We found this stifling versus other options available that offer full pricing transparency for equipment and unlimited customization options. That said, you get $200 off your Nest system when you sign up for monitoring services.

Moni's Monitoring

Moni has only one monitoring plan, which you can get in a month-to-month or 3-year contract period. We found this to be a positive step in the right direction as previous reviews discuss 5 year contracts that appear to be a thing of the past for new customers. Moni has the ASAPer technology, which works at resolving and escalating alarms faster. Also, you'll be notified in your Nest app for all alarms and have the option to reconcile them or elevate them then and there. The monitoring service also comes with cellular backup, battery support (for 12 hours without power), and smash protection. Things that we found to be pretty big missing elements were that they didn't have live-video and motion detected video integration in their advertised plans.

Security & Monitoring Quality

Based on the reviews, Moni's service has changed a lot over the years and even recent reviewers describe a different service. So, make sure to read your contract thoroughly to make sure that the service described here still matches. As of today, we see Moni's service as an affordable, but lean home security service. Nest Secure should fit the needs of most basic implementers, but there are many others with different priorities that will find Moni's service lacking.

Moni's monitoring service is good overall and they are keeping up with industry leaders on that end. However, reported issues around billing and contract renewals still plague Moni's overall score. It could be a good service and they could have learned from their mistakes, but you need to do your due dilligence before buying.

Alternatives

Frontpoint

For those that are excited about the ease of set-up, but wants their security system to do more, Frotnpoint has you covered. They have fully customizable and transparent equipment packages coupled with top of the line monitoring services. They also have some nice differentiators like portability -- you can take your security system to your next home. They are worth a look.

Vivint

Those that are excited about the intersection of home security and new smart home features, Vivint has put a focus on smart home technologies like smart lighting, thermostats, and other appliances, while still providing high end monitoring and home security services. With customizable options, Vivint is for those that want to secure their home with the newest technology today.

Sign up for your Moni Plan Now:   Get Your Quote Now

Browse Moni Customer Reviews

I rarely write a negative review

I rarely write a negative review. But, i originally signed up for a 3 year contract with the Nest Products. Very simple ship it to an address that I provided. Simple process, so you would think? I see the tracking numbers from NEST and for some reason the address had NM instead of NW. After being on the phone for over an hour to get this corrected and promised that it would be delivered the following date, which for me was a problem because I'm in the process of moving to this house and was only in the area for a limited amount of time and wanted the alarm installed before I left, the stuff never arrived as promised. So, I called again the following date and was told the units were shipped back to Nest. There were a total of 4 packages. Well, I cancelled everything and basically told them if you can't even handle shipping properly why would I trust your company with my security needs. Get's better, as I write this NEGATIVE REVIEW, I found out one of the four packages just arrived? But the three other went back to NEST. Freaken Amazing...... You judge for yourself. How hard is anything to ship now-a-days? I've never had issues like this. And the representatives that I talked with at Moni are not really that sure what they need to do when I talked with them on the phone. I called the NEST folks and they were able to see everything. They got the order from Moni. My recommendation is pay more directly to NEST and just simply monitor it yourself. The folks at Moni need to get their act together. In the immortal words of our President......You're Fired.
Follow up a day after a negative review of 1/5 stars. Customer Care got a hold of me and promised to take care of a few of the issues. So, I'm upgrading my review to 3/5 stars. I'll do a follow up review after I have had the service up for a while.

View More Reviews

Browse Reviews From These Home Security Companies

Vivint Smart Home Security
9.6/10

Vivint Smart Home Security

Frontpoint Security
9.6/10

Frontpoint Security

Link Interactive
9.5/10

Link Interactive

Alarm Grid
9.1/10

Alarm Grid

SimpliSafe
9.1/10

SimpliSafe

Armorax
8.8/10

Armorax

GuardMe Security
8.7/10

GuardMe Security

Vector Security
8.7/10

Vector Security

Protect America
8.6/10

Protect America

Scout Alarm
8.5/10

Scout Alarm

Alliance Security
8.5/10

Alliance Security

ADT
8.4/10

ADT

LiveWatch
8.4/10

LiveWatch

XFINITY Home Security
8.3/10

XFINITY Home Security

Protection One
8.3/10

Protection One

Guardian Protection
8.2/10

Guardian Protection

Mountain Alarm
8.1/10

Mountain Alarm

Koorsen Security
8.1/10

Koorsen Security

AT&T Digital Life
7.8/10

AT&T Digital Life

Iris Home Security
7.7/10

Iris Home Security

Cox Home Security
7.7/10

Cox Home Security

Ackerman Security
7.6/10

Ackerman Security

LifeShield
7.5/10

LifeShield

Fortress Security
7.2/10

Fortress Security

CPI Security
6.9/10

CPI Security

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security
6.6/10

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security

Disclaimer

Finding the right home service plan in an ocean of online reviews can be a tedious task. This site's purpose is to provide a detailed account of available home service plans in the US. The scores here are based on aggregated reviews from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the scores may be affected if outside sites do a poor job mitigating fake reviews.

The makers of Home Brands also make affiliate commissions from some of these home service companies to keep the site running. We do not allow that to affect our scoring. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Home Brands come out of the home service company's profit margin. See how it all works here.

Connect & Learn

Legal & Scoring Methodology

About Us

Terms & Conditions

Privacy Policy

How We Score Companies

Home Security Score: 8.4 / 10 from 58 Ratings