LifeShield Reviews (2018)

Access Our #1 Home Security Company! Read Review & Unlock Best Deals

LifeShield

Home Brands is supported by readers. Some links on Home Brands are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Home Brands may make a small amount of money. More info.

LifeShield is very price competitive with affordable equipment and a starting security monitoring plan for $21/mo. However, with cheap equipment comes more risks -- like 'what happens if your equipment breaks'? Also, LifeShield, though they have added live video services, mostly feature home security rather than the newest innovations in home automation. If you are looking for smart home features, other companies will serve you better.

Home Security Scores

Overall Score: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.4/10

Features: 7.3/10

Equipment: 7.8/10

Equipment Price: Included (with some exceptions)

Monitoring Price: $21/mo+

Get Your Quote Now

Browse Our #1 Home Security Company

Overall Takeaways

LifeShield is an affordable home security service that offers both home security monitoring and some smart home features -- like internal cameras. Their pricing has an affordable starting point and their equipment is low priced when you take that into consideration, but there are complaints about the quality of both the equipment and the installers.

Here are what customers say are LifeShield's biggest advantages:

  • Affordable Services
  • Online and Remote Features
.

In addition to these positives, there are some complaints from some customers about LifeShield's service. Here's what they mention as the biggest disadvantages:

  • Slow Service & Installation
  • Equipment is Low Quality
  • Some Billing Complaints

Review New 2018 Plan Options & Get The Best Rates

Get Your Quote Now

Product Details

LifeShield offers two different packages and some tailored customization options if you contact them. One of the things that will strike you is that they mostly focus on home security and not home automation or extra features.

LifeShield's Equipment

Although there were some reports that LifeShield used to include the equipment in their monthly fee, their new pricing structure includes the price of equipment separately as a one time payment. That said, their equipment is still lower quality than many of the top competitors.

PackageDetails
Security Essentials
($199)
  • Wireless Security Tablet
  • 2 Motion Sensors
  • 2 Entry Sensors
  • Enhanced Fire Sensors
  • 1 Keychain Remote
Security Advantage
($300)
All in the Essentials Package and:
  • 2 More Entry Sensors
  • 3 Indoor Cameras

LifeShield's Monitoring

LifeShield offers 1 monitoring plan for its clients. One of the biggest benefits of LifeShield's monitoring plan is it is monthly and you can cancel at anytime. It includes remote arm / disarm, custom alerts, smash & crash protection, and 24 /7 monitoring. For the price, it is a pretty good suite of services, however there are some negative customer reviews from some customers.

Security & Monitoring Quality

Many of the LifeShield's accolades have come as an outcome of their low prices and low monthly fees, which is great for customers looking for a budget solution. Most customers find that things go well on installation as well. That said, over recent years, there are some that describe LifeShield's service going downhill.

There have been reports recently about their partnership with DirecTV -- DirecTV customers have complained about sign up hassles and billing despite equipment not working correctly. Although most customers have an okay experience, those that have any issues with equipment or initial set-up can have issues that last a long period of time. It appears from reviewers' sentiment that the customer service staff is not prepared for one-off issues.

Alternatives

Frontpoint

For those that want streamlined installation and second to none home security monitoring, check out Frontpoint. They have a fully customizable home security and automation service with a fully portable system that can be moved to a new home without issue. Additionally, their home monitoring is high end and gets good reviews from customers for being high quality.

Vivint

One thing that LifeShield is missing is smart home features -- if you are interested in being able to control your thermostat, lights, and doors remotely, look no further than Vivint. Vivint is one of the best home automation services available and has some of the highest reviews from customers while allowing for greater customization for a great price. Need to integrate home security monitoring? They even have good reviews on that too!

Sign up for your LifeShield Plan Now:   Get Your Quote Now

Browse LifeShield Customer Reviews

Wow, was I surprised to come on here and see all these bad reviews

Wow, was I surprised to come on here and see all these bad reviews. I did my research before buying this system, and everyone who had it loved it, and so do I.
This is a "do it yourself" alarm setup. If it doesn't work right, you probably installed it incorrectly. I admit the install was a bit tricky, but for the price and what it does, I love it. I can control my system from my phone, and I get instant emails and text messages if there's ever an issue. there app on my droid phone is awesome and I can control/edit/manage the system via the app or Lifeshield online access.
I love my Lifeshield so far, and I'm going on 3 months. My non-techy girlfriend finds it very simple to use as well and we have not had a single issue. Monthly payment is far less that what the big guys are offering, and to me the equipment is far superior.
A+ in my book.

View More Reviews

Browse Reviews From These Home Security Companies

Vivint Smart Home Security
9.6/10

Vivint Smart Home Security

Frontpoint Security
9.6/10

Frontpoint Security

Link Interactive
9.5/10

Link Interactive

Alarm Grid
9.1/10

Alarm Grid

SimpliSafe
9.1/10

SimpliSafe

Armorax
8.8/10

Armorax

GuardMe Security
8.7/10

GuardMe Security

Vector Security
8.7/10

Vector Security

Protect America
8.6/10

Protect America

Scout Alarm
8.5/10

Scout Alarm

Alliance Security
8.5/10

Alliance Security

ADT
8.4/10

ADT

Moni
8.4/10

Moni

LiveWatch
8.4/10

LiveWatch

XFINITY Home Security
8.3/10

XFINITY Home Security

Protection One
8.3/10

Protection One

Guardian Protection
8.2/10

Guardian Protection

Mountain Alarm
8.1/10

Mountain Alarm

Koorsen Security
8.1/10

Koorsen Security

AT&T Digital Life
7.8/10

AT&T Digital Life

Iris Home Security
7.7/10

Iris Home Security

Cox Home Security
7.7/10

Cox Home Security

Ackerman Security
7.6/10

Ackerman Security

Fortress Security
7.2/10

Fortress Security

CPI Security
6.9/10

CPI Security

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security
6.6/10

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security

Disclaimer

Finding the right home service plan in an ocean of online reviews can be a tedious task. This site's purpose is to provide a detailed account of available home service plans in the US. The scores here are based on aggregated reviews from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the scores may be affected if outside sites do a poor job mitigating fake reviews.

The makers of Home Brands also make affiliate commissions from some of these home service companies to keep the site running. We do not allow that to affect our scoring. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Home Brands come out of the home service company's profit margin. See how it all works here.

Connect & Learn

Legal & Scoring Methodology

About Us

Terms & Conditions

Privacy Policy

How We Score Companies

Home Security Score: 7.5 / 10 from 18 Ratings