GuardMe Security Reviews (2018)

Access Our #1 Home Security Company! Read Review & Unlock Best Deals

GuardMe Security

Home Brands is supported by readers. Some links on Home Brands are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Home Brands may make a small amount of money. More info.

GuardMe home security is a small, regional home security company based in New Jersey. They only cover half the states in the US, but they do keep their offering competitive and up to date with the newest technologies. They offer monitoring services and equipment packages with most reviewers having great things to say. Where things may not be great for everyone is around home installation services. Some customers have reported sub-par installers in certain locations, but others have nothing but good to say.

Home Security Scores

Overall Score: 8.7/10

Customer Satisfaction: 8.9/10

Features: 8.6/10

Equipment: 8.7/10

Equipment Price: Varies

Monitoring Price: Varies

Get Your Quote Now

Browse Our #1 Home Security Company

Overall Takeaways

GuardMe gets a lot of love from customers online, which shows that this company is great at customer service and reputation management. They aren't very transparent with pricing and equipment packages, which can be disappointing for someone that is trying to choose between them and competitors. That said, they use good quality equipment in their systems, which is a plus for those that want a higher end system -- just be prepared to haggle.

Here are what customers say are GuardMe's biggest advantages:

  • High Quality Equipment Options
  • 24 / 7 Monitoring in Coverage Locations
  • Some Home Automation Features Can Be Added
  • Customer Service is Good Overally
.

In addition to these positives, there are some complaints from some customers about GuardMe's service. Here's what they mention as the biggest disadvantages:

  • Lack of Transparency on Products / Pricing
  • Some Installers are Sub-Par
  • Issues Getting a Repair During Malfunctions

Review New 2018 Plan Options & Get The Best Rates

Get Your Quote Now

Product Details

One of the most disappointing elements of GuardMe's offering is its lack of transparency about their product lines. We'll go through the details as they are laid out in their current offering -- but they may have slightly different products and offerings that they pitch exclusively over the phone.

GuardMe's Equipment

GuardMe uses high quality equipment overall for its customers. Name brands like Honeywell and 2GIG security products and Z-Wave & Alerm.com integrated home automation devices make GuardMe's equipment the market standard for quality. Make sure that you know exactly what you are buying before it ships so there isn't any hesitation that their equipment is state-of-the-art.

GuardMe's Monitoring

GuardMe offers competitive home monitoring plans, but sadly are not very transparent with their pricing and packages, which could mean that you will pay more if you don't like to haggle. That said, they offer 24/7 monitoring for burglary, fire, and medical alerts, which is the market standard for those that offer monitoring services. They will likely tailor the monitoring plan based on each home owner's needs, but it is important to be cautious before signing your contract. Since they are not as transparent as others, make sure to read your contract in its entirety so that you know exactly what you are getting.

Security & Monitoring Quality

GuardMe has a lot of positive reviews from customers, which is uncommon in the home security space where issues arise all the time. This really showcases that their customer service teams know how to handle customers well and the monitoring services don't malfunction often.

However, there were some that found issues with GuardMe -- those that needed installation help or had malfunctioning equipment had to rely on local installers. Some were excellent, but others had reports of problems installing and repairing equipment.

Alternatives

Frontpoint

Although GuardMe is a competitive product, Frontpoint offers the top of the line security monitoring without the issues of home installers. They provide streamlined equipment that is easy to install yourself and totally portable so that you can move from home to home without having to leave your home security equipment behind. They also have great reviews overall from customers and strong quality.

Vivint

If you are someone that is excited about all of the smart home advances over the recent years, Vivint is one of the best home monitoring and smart home services available. They offer customization of smart home and home automation features, while also providing good quality home security monitoring for those that need it. For those that want more control, take a look at Vivint.

Sign up for your GuardMe Security Plan Now:   Get Your Quote Now

Browse GuardMe Security Customer Reviews

I have been on the fence about getting a security system

I have been on the fence about getting a security system for the past year or so, but recently there have been incidents around the neighborhood that got me off the fence. So, for the past two months I have been in contact with a sales representative, Navid at Guardme. I'm the type of person who does constant research and asks questions because I want to make sure that the product I'm purchasing isn't going to make me regret my decisions and Navid has been nothing but helpful. He seems very knowledgeable about the products and wasn't too pushy when it came to making me buy. When purchasing a security system, it's an investment and you need time to mull things over. Eventually I decided to go with the Z-wave set up because of the possibilities it gives me, and I'm kind of a tech geek. I mean, who can turn down the ability to turn your lights off and on from your phone while your on your way to work?
So after making the purchase I scheduled a date a couple of days out to get the installation done. I received two touch screen panels which was kinda cool and one Z-wave socket to get me started. I also purchased one indoor and two outdoor cameras. All in all the whole installation process took about 4 hours between the guy going up on the roof and running wires through my basement and attic. Everything is out of sight, and the installer even cleaned up after himself which doesn't happen very often (VERIZON FIOS GUY!)
It's been a weekend and a couple of days with the system and I can say that I really love it! The coolest thing is that I can see everything that is going on in the living room and take pictures ALL FROM MY PHONE. I'm looking to purchase some more Z-wave stuff and maybe add a camera to my backyard, so I'll probably be reaching out to Navid again since he gave me his direct line and said call for anything. I definitely can recommend these guys to anyone and if you're a techy like me, go with the Z-wave. It lets you do some really cool stuff with your phone

View More Reviews

Browse Reviews From These Home Security Companies

Vivint Smart Home Security
9.6/10

Vivint Smart Home Security

Frontpoint Security
9.6/10

Frontpoint Security

Link Interactive
9.5/10

Link Interactive

Alarm Grid
9.1/10

Alarm Grid

SimpliSafe
9.1/10

SimpliSafe

Armorax
8.8/10

Armorax

Vector Security
8.7/10

Vector Security

Protect America
8.6/10

Protect America

Scout Alarm
8.5/10

Scout Alarm

Alliance Security
8.5/10

Alliance Security

ADT
8.4/10

ADT

Moni
8.4/10

Moni

LiveWatch
8.4/10

LiveWatch

XFINITY Home Security
8.3/10

XFINITY Home Security

Protection One
8.3/10

Protection One

Guardian Protection
8.2/10

Guardian Protection

Mountain Alarm
8.1/10

Mountain Alarm

Koorsen Security
8.1/10

Koorsen Security

AT&T Digital Life
7.8/10

AT&T Digital Life

Iris Home Security
7.7/10

Iris Home Security

Cox Home Security
7.7/10

Cox Home Security

Ackerman Security
7.6/10

Ackerman Security

LifeShield
7.5/10

LifeShield

Fortress Security
7.2/10

Fortress Security

CPI Security
6.9/10

CPI Security

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security
6.6/10

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security

Disclaimer

Finding the right home service plan in an ocean of online reviews can be a tedious task. This site's purpose is to provide a detailed account of available home service plans in the US. The scores here are based on aggregated reviews from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the scores may be affected if outside sites do a poor job mitigating fake reviews.

The makers of Home Brands also make affiliate commissions from some of these home service companies to keep the site running. We do not allow that to affect our scoring. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Home Brands come out of the home service company's profit margin. See how it all works here.

Connect & Learn

Legal & Scoring Methodology

About Us

Terms & Conditions

Privacy Policy

How We Score Companies

Home Security Score: 8.7 / 10 from 6 Ratings