Fortress Security Reviews (2018)

Access Our #1 Home Security Company! Read Review & Unlock Best Deals

Fortress Security

Home Brands is supported by readers. Some links on Home Brands are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Home Brands may make a small amount of money. More info.

Fortress Security is a DIY security package company where you can select between different types of equipment for your home automation, smart home, and home security project. One of the biggest drawbacks of Fortress Security is that managed monitoring plans are not included. If there is a breakin, customers have to alert the local authorities themselves, which can be a difficult prospect in many circumstances.

Home Security Scores

Overall Score: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.3/10

Features: 6.8/10

Equipment: 7.4/10

Equipment Price: Varies

Monitoring Price: Not Included

Get Your Quote Now

Browse Our #1 Home Security Company

Overall Takeaways

Fortress Security is a DIY home security company that is missing a lot of the benefits of home monitoring services. That said, there are plenty of people that want the ability of self-monitoring and without having to get roped into a monthly contract. Fortress sells their own proprietary line of equipment and breaks things down into their own equipment packages.

Here are what customers say are Fortress's biggest advantages:

  • Painless E-Commerce Experience
  • Helpful Customer Service
.

In addition to these positives, there are some complaints from some customers about Fortress's service. Here's what they mention as the biggest disadvantages:

  • Some Issues With Delivery
  • Some Faults with Equipment
  • Contract Monthly Fee for SIM Card

Review New 2018 Plan Options & Get The Best Rates

Get Your Quote Now

Product Details

Fortress's equipment is custom branded and comes in a variety of pricepoints and package options. Overall, most customers have had good experiences getting their deliveries on time and set-up is relatively painless for those that are used to installing technological equipment.

Fortress's Equipment

Fortress has a variety of popular packages and fully customizable systems. One of the benefits of using Fortress is that you can order spare sensors and additional pieces of equipment to integrate with your existing system. This means that you can really take full advantage of customizations and new technology over time. Here are the details on their most popular packages:

PackageDetails
S02 Security System
($119-$259)
  • 1 S02 Control Panel
  • 5-10 Door / Window Sensors
  • 1 Panic Button
  • 2 - 4 Motion Detectors
  • 1 Internal or Black Siren
  • 2 - 3 Key Fobs
  • Optional 1 Glass Break Sensor
  • Optional 1 Smoke Alarm
Total Security System
($275-$649)
  • 1 Control Panel
  • 5 - 10 Door / Window Sensor
  • 2 - 4 Key Fobs
  • 2 - 4 Motion Detectors
  • 1 Strobe Siren
  • Optional 1 Solar Siren
  • 2 - 4 RFID Tags
  • Optional 1 Glass Break Sensor
  • Optional 2 Smart Outlets
  • Optional 1 Micro-USB Power Supply
  • Optional 1 Smoke Alarm
S6 Titan WiFi Security
($260-$469)
  • 1 Main 3G/4G WiFi Panel
  • 2 - 4 RFID Tags
  • 2 - 4 Key Fobs
  • 1 - 3 Motion Detectors
  • 1 - 8 Door / Window Sensors
  • Optional Black Alarm
  • Optional Strobe Siren
  • Optional Panic Button
  • Optional Indoor / Outdoor Strobe Siren

Security Quality

Fortress's Security is really about what you make of it since there are no monitoring services available. That said, their packages are mostly security related and not so detailed when it comes to remote monitoring and smart home features. This is one of the biggest drawbacks in terms of most of the packages that they offer.

In terms of the equipment that they provide and how customers find using it, most find that the set-up process is straight forward. However, it does take some knowledge to set-up that some folks may not have the patience for. That said, most customers have reported that customer service agents are available to help with questions.

Alternatives

Frontpoint

Our opinion is that Fortress Security may be a fine deturrent, but really not ideal for those that face serious threats. Frontpoint on the other hand is perfect for those that have real security threats. Their equipment is very streamlined to set-up making it easy on customers with easy to follow guides. Also their monitoring services are second to none.

Vivint

One of the things that we found really lacking from the Fortress offering was the smart home features. Vivint is one of the best security and smart home companies on the market, offering much more in terms of your own ability to monitor your home remotely. You can integrate cameras, thermostats and other smart appliances so that your home remains efficient and secure at all times.

Sign up for your Fortress Security Plan Now:   Get Your Quote Now

Browse Fortress Security Customer Reviews

I purchased a security system

I purchased a security system from this business 6 months ago and it has been broken longer than it has worked. When I first started having problems I asked to return the unit and they would not take it back. They sent me a few new pieces of equipment to try and it worked for a few months and then... stopped working again about a month ago. I contacted them again and they promised to send me 5 new sensors with "updated battery capability" and I only received one instead of 5. I contacted them again and they sent out 4 more. Only 3 of the 4 worked. I contacted them again and they claimed to be sending one more. I have also spent over 15.00 in batteries when they sensors are supposed to come with working batteries. The customer service agent that has been assigned to my case wrote a sarcastic remark to me when I expressed to him how unacceptable this has been. They wont take the horrible unit back which offers my home no security at this point nor have they offered any kind of discount for forcing me to keep it.

View More Reviews

Browse Reviews From These Home Security Companies

Vivint Smart Home Security
9.6/10

Vivint Smart Home Security

Frontpoint Security
9.6/10

Frontpoint Security

Link Interactive
9.5/10

Link Interactive

Alarm Grid
9.1/10

Alarm Grid

SimpliSafe
9.1/10

SimpliSafe

Armorax
8.8/10

Armorax

GuardMe Security
8.7/10

GuardMe Security

Vector Security
8.7/10

Vector Security

Protect America
8.6/10

Protect America

Scout Alarm
8.5/10

Scout Alarm

Alliance Security
8.5/10

Alliance Security

ADT
8.4/10

ADT

Moni
8.4/10

Moni

LiveWatch
8.4/10

LiveWatch

XFINITY Home Security
8.3/10

XFINITY Home Security

Protection One
8.3/10

Protection One

Guardian Protection
8.2/10

Guardian Protection

Mountain Alarm
8.1/10

Mountain Alarm

Koorsen Security
8.1/10

Koorsen Security

AT&T Digital Life
7.8/10

AT&T Digital Life

Iris Home Security
7.7/10

Iris Home Security

Cox Home Security
7.7/10

Cox Home Security

Ackerman Security
7.6/10

Ackerman Security

LifeShield
7.5/10

LifeShield

CPI Security
6.9/10

CPI Security

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security
6.6/10

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security

Disclaimer

Finding the right home service plan in an ocean of online reviews can be a tedious task. This site's purpose is to provide a detailed account of available home service plans in the US. The scores here are based on aggregated reviews from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the scores may be affected if outside sites do a poor job mitigating fake reviews.

The makers of Home Brands also make affiliate commissions from some of these home service companies to keep the site running. We do not allow that to affect our scoring. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Home Brands come out of the home service company's profit margin. See how it all works here.

Connect & Learn

Legal & Scoring Methodology

About Us

Terms & Conditions

Privacy Policy

How We Score Companies

Home Security Score: 7.2 / 10 from 16 Ratings