ADT vs. Alarm Grid (2018 Updated)

Home Brands is supported by readers. Some links on Home Brands are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Home Brands may make a small amount of money. More info.

ADT

ADT is one of the most well-known home security companies in the United States. They work with a variety of independent service providers that install and service ADT solutions across the US. In terms of getting the job done, ADT is one of the most trusted solutions and has the largest customer base of any home security company in the US. That said, over the years, newcomers have challenged ADT with upgraded equipment, more smart home features, and competitive pricing. ADT is still the biggest, but innovation is sure to challenge.

Alarm Grid

Alarm Grid is a competitively priced monitoring solution that also offers alarm systems for a fee. They tailor their product to people that prefer a DIY set up without the binding monitoring contract. They offer monitoring services on top as well with a low monthly fee and a cancel anytime plan. Most customers like Alarm Grid, but they may not be for everyone as the DIY set up may be too much for some customers.

Detailed Scores

Overall Score

ADT: 8.4/10
Alarm Grid: 9.1/10

Customer Satisfaction

ADT: 8.2/10
Alarm Grid: 9.2/10

Features

ADT: 8.5/10
Alarm Grid: 9/10

Equipment

ADT: 8.4/10
Alarm Grid: 9.1/10

Prices

ADT:
Alarm Grid:

Get ADT Quote Now

Get Alarm Grid Quote Now

Browse ADT Customer Reviews

We recently purchased our first home

We recently purchased our first home, and decided to go with ADT for security. Our technician, Donald K, did an excellent job installing our system, explaining everything, and ensuring we had the best system for our home. I felt as though he genuinely suggested the best options for us, based on what he would do if it were his own home. And to cap it off, he was super friendly.
Ask for Donald K!!!
***Other commenters mentioned a 3 yr contract, this is FALSE as the state of CA mandates that contracts max out at 2 yrs. The misconception is due to ADT's standard forms since the other 49 states don't have this state-imposed limitation, so the form states 3yrs. Donald crossed out the 3yrs on our form and had us initial by it. No big deal.

View More Reviews

Sign up for your Alarm Grid Plan Now:   Get Your Quote Now

Browse Alarm Grid Customer Reviews

Alarmgrid has just made it easy to sign up and stay active

Alarmgrid has just made it easy to sign up and stay active.
The signup process was very easy as well as hooking up my alarm system to them. They even helped me add/remove sensors remotely without having an alarm technician come to my home which is VERY cool.
So far they've been working great with our Amdeco alarm panel which had internet connectivity and hooked into my old wired system. We also added a wireless adapter and have wireless smoke, motion and door open detectors. They have worked great and in one instance we had the fire brigade at our door within 5minutes of a smoke alarm going off. They are diligent and very responsive. They even helped us make changes to our alarm system remotely like adding new components rather than having to call a technician.

View More Reviews

Browse Reviews From These Home Security Companies

Vivint Smart Home Security
9.6/10

Vivint Smart Home Security

Frontpoint Security
9.6/10

Frontpoint Security

Link Interactive
9.5/10

Link Interactive

Alarm Grid
9.1/10

Alarm Grid

SimpliSafe
9.1/10

SimpliSafe

Armorax
8.8/10

Armorax

GuardMe Security
8.7/10

GuardMe Security

Vector Security
8.7/10

Vector Security

Protect America
8.6/10

Protect America

Scout Alarm
8.5/10

Scout Alarm

Alliance Security
8.5/10

Alliance Security

ADT
8.4/10

ADT

Moni
8.4/10

Moni

LiveWatch
8.4/10

LiveWatch

XFINITY Home Security
8.3/10

XFINITY Home Security

Protection One
8.3/10

Protection One

Guardian Protection
8.2/10

Guardian Protection

Mountain Alarm
8.1/10

Mountain Alarm

Koorsen Security
8.1/10

Koorsen Security

AT&T Digital Life
7.8/10

AT&T Digital Life

Iris Home Security
7.7/10

Iris Home Security

Cox Home Security
7.7/10

Cox Home Security

Ackerman Security
7.6/10

Ackerman Security

LifeShield
7.5/10

LifeShield

Fortress Security
7.2/10

Fortress Security

CPI Security
6.9/10

CPI Security

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security
6.6/10

Time Warner (Spectrum) Security

Disclaimer

Finding the right home service plan in an ocean of online reviews can be a tedious task. This site's purpose is to provide a detailed account of available home service plans in the US. The scores here are based on aggregated reviews from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the scores may be affected if outside sites do a poor job mitigating fake reviews.

The makers of Home Brands also make affiliate commissions from some of these home service companies to keep the site running. We do not allow that to affect our scoring. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Home Brands come out of the home service company's profit margin. See how it all works here.

Connect & Learn